British Beekeepers Association


British Beekeepers Association


A chance to test your knowledge on all aspects of apiculture.

The Modules are written examinations held at a centre in your region with each paper taking 1½hrs. You can take up to 4 modules in each session. There are seven modules to be studied:

Module 1 - Honey bee Management

Module 2 - Honey bee Products and Forage

Module 3 - Honey bee Pests, Diseases and Poisoning

Module 5 - Honey bee Biology

Module 6 - Honey bee Behaviour

Module 7 - Selection & Breeding of Honey bees

Module 8 - Honey bee Management, Health and History

Module 8 must be the last module to be taken, otherwise they can be tackled in any order.

After passing modules 1, 2, 3 and one other from 5, 6 and 7 you are awarded the Intermediate Theory Certificate and after passing all modules you are awarded the Advanced Theory Certificate.

The entry requirements to sit the modules are the Basic Certificate and at least 2 years beekeeping experience.

To apply for the assessment, complete the Application Form and send it with the Fee to your Area Examination Secretary or if an individual member, direct to the National Beekeeping Centre at Stoneleigh.

The Area Exam Secretary will contact you with details of the Examination.

Results from March examinations are normally available by 3rd week May.

Results from November examinations are normally available by 3rd week January.

Past exam papers are now available from Module Past Papers on the official BBKA webshop. 

Download an Application Form and syllabus details from the Documents on this page.